Specialized Women's Racing

Down Under 2020

Every summer under the blistering Australian sun, the professional cycling season launches Down Under. Although the weather wasn't as hot as years before the racing definitely was.

Specialized Women's Racing

Down Under 2020

Every summer under the blistering Australian sun, the professional cycling season launches Down Under. Although the weather wasn't as hot as years before the racing definitely was.

Women's Tour Down Under 2020

With 6 out of the 8 Women's World Tour teams attending the Tour Down Under the level of racing stepped up again for 2020, and the Specialized Women's Racing Team took centre stage all race. A 3rd place on Stage 1 and two Top 5 placings in Stage 2 and 4. The team put their stamp on the race and ensured everyone knew that they weren't a team attending to fill the numbers.

“As the first race of the professional UCI season it was always going to be a nervous bunch, but at times it felt terrifying. The pace was steady, but after a number of crashes, I couldn’t wait for the race to be over. The final few corners I felt at my best and just let it unfold in front of me. I was shocked to be sitting 3rd wheel and to see the finish just ahead. I knew I was exposed, but I just had to keep driving, and I still can’t believe no one came around me. After not feeling great all day, I’m stoked with the result, and the team had a faultless day. Tomorrow will bring new challenges, but we’ll always have today, a podium at a UCI World Tour event.” - Matilda Raynolds

Images provided by Russ Ellis - @cyclingimages

As an Australian NRS team, the Specialized Women's Race Team finished 2nd on Teams Classification at the WTDU. A feat that didn't go unnoticed by all that attended the Tour, animating the race in breaks and sprints, the team took it right up to the World Tour teams. We couldn't be more proud to be associated with the team, and we are looking forward to seeing what the team will be able to produce in 2020.

Specialized Women's Racing Team Roster

Ella Bloor - @ella.bloor

Jaime Gunning - @jaime.gunning

Taryn Heather - @taryn_heather

Matilda Raynolds - @matildaraynolds

Ashlee Jones - @ashlee.jones1

Kate Perry - @kateperry90

Lizzie Stannard - @lizziestannard

Holly Harris - @hollyharris_7

Briony Matocks - @thebriony

Specialized Women's Racing - @specializedwr